President meets children selected for National Bravery Award-2012

President meets children selected for National Bravery Award-2012New Delhi, Jan 22 : President Pranab Mukherjee met children who won the National Bravery Awards-2012, at Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Tuesday.

Mukherjee interacted with the brave children and their parents, and praised them for their acts of valour.

Twenty-two children have been awarded the National Bravery Awards this year, including one child posthumously. The awardees receive a medal, certificate, cash prize and also the opportunity of participating in the Republic Day Parade.

Of the twenty-two gallant children who have been selected for the awards four are girls.

These awards were initiated in 1957 by Indian Council for Child Welfare (ICCW). The awardees will be granted financial assistance until they complete their school education under a sponsorship programme of the Council.

The Government of India has reserved some seats for the awardee children in medical and engineering colleges and polytechnics.

The Awardees are invited to Delhi where the Prime Minister presents the awards on the eve of Republic Day. The children then take part in the Republic Day Parade. (ANI)


Check out More news from Telecom Sector :: Pharmaceutical Sector :: Auto Sector :: Infrastructure :: Real Estate

Popular Stories

Post being thrashed Kenyan woman withdraws complaint

Greater Noida (Uttar Pradesh) [India], Mar. 30 :... Read More

BJP-PDP Govt. must understand situation in J-K is volatile: Congress

New Delhi [India], Mar. 30 : Accusing the BJP-PDP... Read More

Pannerselvam releases manifesto for RK Nagar by-polls

Chennai (Tamil Nadu) [India], Mar. 30 : The All... Read More

Will see if GST benefits rural sections of nation: NCP

New Delhi [India] Mar. 30 : With the Lok Sabha... Read More

2008 BMW accident case: Court defers order till Apr. 19

New Delhi [India] Mar. 30 : A Delhi court on... Read More

Commenting on any religious issue is very personal: Congress

New Delhi [India], Mar. 30 : The Congress Party on... Read More