Kohli, Mithali Raj nominated for LG ICC 2014 Cricketer of the Year awards

Virat KohliDubai, Nov 05 : India's star batsman Virat Kohli and Indian women team's skipper and number one ranked batter Mithali Raj have been nominated for ODI Cricketer of the Year in men and women categories respectively as the International Council of Cricket announced the shortlists for LG ICC Awards 2014.

A. B. de Villiers, Charlotte Edwards, Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews, Mithali Raj, Kumar Sangakkara and Stafanie Taylor nominated for two awards each

Australia's Mitchell Johnson and Sri Lanka's Kumar Sangakkara are in line to win their second Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year after they were shortlisted for the LG ICC Awards 2014.

Since the inception of the LG ICC Awards in 2004, no cricketer has won this award twice.

Sri Lanka captain Mathews, who was the second highest run-getter in Tests with 1,292 runs at an average of 92.28 and backed up this performance with 965 runs in 28 ODIs at an average of just under 54, and AB de Villiers, who scored 932 runs in 10 Tests at an average of 54.8 and 963 runs in 20 ODIs at an average of over 60, have also been shortlisted for the award.

If Mathews or de Villiers win this year's award, then there would have been 12 different winners in the 11-year history of the LG ICC Awards. In 2005, Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff were declared joint winners of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy.

Johnson, Mathews and Sangakkara as well as Australia opener David Warner (1,066 runs in eight Tests) have also been shortlisted for the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award. Sangakkara is the only player in the group to have previously won this award in 2012.

This year's LG ICC Awards include 11 individual prizes and also feature the selection of the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

For the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year award, Quinton de Kock, de Villiers, Virat Kohli and Dale Steyn have been shortlisted. De Villiers won this award in 2010, while Kohli won it in 2012.

For the ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year award, two former winners have been shortlisted. These are England's women's captain Edwards, winner in 2008, and two-time winner Taylor of the West Indies. They are joined by India captain and number-one ranked batter Mithali Raj and England wicketkeeper-batter Sarah Taylor.

The LG ICC awards are:

1. ICC Test Cricketer of the Year:

a. Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

b. Angelo Mathews (Sri Lanka)

c. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lank)

d. David Warner (Australia)

2. ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year:

a. Quinton de Kock (South Africa)

b. AB de Villiers (South Africa)

c. Virat Kohli (India)

d. Dale Steyn (South Africa)

3. ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year:

a. Charlotte Edwards (England)

b. Mithali Raj (India)

c. Sarah Taylor (England)

d. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

4. ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year:

a. Corey Anderson (New Zealand)

b. Gary Ballance (England)

c. Jimmy Neesham (New Zealand)

d. Ben Stokes (England)

5. ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year:

a. Calum MacLeod (Scotland)

b. Preston Mommsen (Scotland)

c. Mohammad Nabi (Afghanistan)

d. Samiullah Shenwari (Afghanistan)

6. ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year:

a. Alex Hales (England) - 116 not out (64b, 11x4, 6x6) vs Sri Lanka (WT20), 27 Mar 2014

b. Aaron Finch (Australia) -156 (63b, 11x4, 14x6) v England, 29 August 2013

c. Rangana Herath (Sri Lanka) - 3.3-2-3-5 v NZ (WT20), 31 Mar 2014

7. ICC Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year;

a. Charlotte Edwards (England)

b. Meg Lanning (Australia)

c. Mithali Raj ( India)

d. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies)

8. David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year

All 12 members of the ICC Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires have been nominated

9. ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

To be announced on 14 November via ICC media release (ANI)