Poll Panel For Shifting 3 Top Police Officers

The Commission wrote to the Chief Secretary and ordered posting of Amaresh Pujari, IPS, as DIG, Madurai Range; Prem Anand Sinha, IPS, as S.P. Madurai and Praveen Kumar Abhinapu, IPS, as Deputy SP and sought compliance from the State Government by 10 a.m. on Friday.

Commission sources said that the transfers were ordered on the report sent by the State Chief Electoral Officer Naresh Gupta as a measure for ensuring free and fair polls.

Meanwhile, Deputy Election Commissioner J.P. Prakash shall be visiting Thirumangalam, on Friday, and shall meet representatives of political parties and senior officials. He is also likely to probe into allegations made by the AIADMK and the DMK. Sources said that decision on deploying Central Paramilitary forces in the constituency shall be taken on receipt of the report from Mr. Prakash by the Commission.

The AIADMK had alleged that the model code of conduct was violated by State Ministers and officials as money was distributed and vehicles were used unauthorisedly. It wants the Commission to restrain Mr. Azhagiri from visiting the constituency, as in the past, poll related violations had taken place in Madurai Central, Madurai West and Madurai Corporation elections.

On Thursday Union Minister, T.R. Baalu ,met Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami and gave a memorandum alleging large-scale violence indulged in by AIADMK They indulged in violence so as to create an impression that it was not conducive to hold the polls.   
It said,“In short, they aim at the postponement of the by-election itself. The attitude of State CEO Mr. Naresh Gupta also needs close scrutiny by the Election Commission.” It was also alleged that instead of looking into the complaint regarding the unlawful activities of AIADMK leaders, Mr. Gupta told the three DMK Members of the  Parliament that “tell all these things to your leader.”